Sunday, October 30, 2011

Weekly Preview & Giveaway (4)

Welcome to week four of my new feature where I preview what I will be reviewing this week and also where you get a chance to enter to win one of the books I am reading this week plus two books from my giveaway page.  All you have to do to enter is leave your name and email in the Rafflecopter below.  All other entries are optional.  Open to US/Canada only, ends 11/5.  This week all that is up for grab is Never Eighteen,  Too Wicked to Wed and The Baker's Wife (if it wasn't chosen last week).  Everything else is an ebook or a book tour.  If I read anything else I will add that to the pot and let you know.

Last week was a serious fail in the reading department so The Baker's Wife is making a repeat appearance.  Hoping this week will be a better week for reading.

First up last week's winner is: 

Deranged Pegasus 


The Baker's Wife by Erin Healy
Litfuse Publicity

 It's been a tough year for Audrey's family. Her husband Geoff, a pastor, lost his job after a scandal rocked their congregation.

Audrey hasn't lost faith. She's held her family together. Their attempt to resurrect a failing bakery is an effort to heal the family wounds and restore their place in the community.

Late to the bakery one dim, foggy morning, Audrey turns into the intersection in front of the shop and strikes a vehicle that she can't see even after the collision settles. Emerging from her car into the fog, she discovers she's hit a motor scooter. There's no rider in sight. There's blood, though, so much that she slips in it, injuring her wrists.

The absence of the scooter driver is a mystery, especially to Sergeant Jack Mansfield, the detective and church member who drove Geoff from his pulpit. The scooter belongs to Jack's wife, Julie, a teacher at the local high school. She has vanished like morning fog.

Though there is no evidence to support Jack's growing suspicion that Audrey and Geoff were involved in Julie's disappearance, the detective is convinced of their guilt. Jack's ability to reason slips as the leads on his wife dry up.

When Jack takes the tiny bakery and its patrons hostage, Audrey must find Julie and unravel the secret of her own mysterious suffering before Jack comes undone.


Entice Me by Lucianne Rivers (Book #3 in the Caldwell Sisters Trilogy) 
Entangled Publishing
I'm also reviewing the first two books as well.
Lucianne will also be guest posting

Heartsick over the untimely death of her mother, Allison Caldwell is blindsided again by the secret revealed in her mom’s will. Her supposedly dead father is alive, and she and her two sisters must find him in order to settle the Caldwell estate.

Robert Rivera, private investigator and former Navy SEAL, alerts Allison to new intel identifying her father as a P.O.W. in Afghanistan. With her sisters out of the country pursuing leads, Allison insists on heading to the war-ravaged country to find him. Robert doesn’t want his na├»ve client to take the risk. He knows what danger lays in that godforsaken land…he’s lived through it. Barely.

But Allison is determined to go, and Robert can’t let her travel alone. Reluctantly appreciative, Allison quickly realizes how much she needs his guidance and protection, and how deeply she longs for his love. Robert struggles to understand her effect on his battle-weary heart.

The path to Allison’s father is blocked by terrorists, traps and treachery—all demons of Robert’s past. Can he survive a second round with the enemy and keep Allison out of harm’s way?


Finding Somewhere by Joseph Monninger
author interview with Teen Book Scene tour

Two girls: Best friends Hattie and Delores feel that life in their small New Hampshire town is a dead end.
One horse: Old and about to be put down, Speed gets a reprieve when Hattie and Delores decide to save him.
A road trip: Determined to set Speed free, Hattie and Delores drive him west in search of rangeland. But the road takes some unexpected turns as the girls get their own taste of freedom—and as they confront the reasons they left home.


Never Eighteen by Megan Bostic
Teenage Garage Sale post by author for Teen Scene Tour

Austin Parker is on a journey to bring truth, beauty, and meaning to his life.
Austin Parker is never going to see his eighteenth birthday. At the rate he’s going, he probably won’t even see the end of the year. The doctors say his chances of surviving are slim to none even with treatment, so he’s decided it’s time to let go.
But before he goes, Austin wants to mend the broken fences in his life. So with the help of his best friend, Kaylee, Austin visits every person in his life who touched him in a special way. He journeys to places he’s loved and those he’s never seen. And what starts as a way to say goodbye turns into a personal journey that brings love, acceptance, and meaning to Austin’s life.

Devil's Hand by M.E. Patterson
Author Interview as part of Pump Up Your Book Promotion Tour

A Las Vegas poker ace with supernatural luck is swept into a world-ending conflict between fallen angels and otherworldly shades, in a thrilling debut novel for readers who enjoy Dean Koontz, Jim Butcher, and Tim Powers.

The lone survivor of a tragic plane crash, Trent Hawkins inherited a mysterious lucky streak that made him famous, and hated, in the poker circles of the City of Sin. It wasn't long before the eyes in the sky threw him on the blacklist and chased him out of town. Now, after years away, Trent returns to Las Vegas, and walks right back into trouble.

As a serial kidnapper terrorizes the city, Trent and his wife, Susan, rescue a strange, thirteen year-old girl, only to find themselves caught in a fallen angel's plot to cleanse Las Vegas with an unholy blizzard.

As the neon dims and the city freezes, Trent is forced to make terrible sacrifices in order to protect his new charge, and learns dark truths about himself and the creatures plotting against mankind. Poker-playing demons, fallen angels, and otherworldly shades all vie to enlist his strange luck, and Trent must choose his role in the coming War, or watch our world fall to ruin beneath a blanket of shadow and ice


Too Wicked to Wed by Cara Elliot
From Publisher

Outspoken and independent, Lady Alexa Bingham enjoys the heady freedom of making all her own decisions, even though the challenges of overseeing her family's country estate are daunting. But when a chance encounter with London's most notorious rake awakens a secret longing for adventure, she accepts her aunt's invitation for a Season in Town . . . only to find that breaking the rules of the ton has serious consequences.
The Earl of Killingworth uses his rakehell reputation to hide the fact that poverty has forced him to work for a living. As the owner of a gambling den and brothel, Connor has no time for glittering ballrooms or innocent young ladies. But after a reckless wager leaves him with a new business partner, he is forced to take a risky gamble . . . Will the cards fall in their favor? Alexa and Connor begin to play a dangerous game of intrigue and deception as they seek to outwit a cunning adversary who wants to put them permanently out of business. But if they are not careful, it is the flames of their own fiery attraction that may destroy them.


Vivien said...

I'm listening to Beautiful Chaos by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. I'm reading The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa.

Anna Friday said...

I'm reading Persuasion this week.

SiNn said...

right now im reading long hard ride by Lorelei James

Liz V. said...

Read nice things about the Baker's Wife.

I'm reading never read Christies, while sipping tea and fighting sniffles.

Maureen said...

I am reading Revenge at Bella Terra by Christina Dodd
mce1011 AT aol DOT com

Mona said...

Actually, I'm not reading anything right now. I'm trying to catch up on some magazine subscriptions.

Tiffany Drew said...

I'm reading Ashfall by Mike Mullin.

Margaret said...

This week I'm reading a classic. The Grapes Of Wrath by John Steinbeck.

Julie said...

I'm reading Ashfall and I'm really enjoying it!

apple blossom said...

Remembering You by Tricia Goyer

ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

Patsy said...

I'm reading Body Of Evidence by Patricia D. Cornwell.

ann said...

Just started reading The Perfect Stranger and just finished There are crocodiles in the sea

amhengst at verizon dot net

AEKZ2 said...

I'm reading The Magicians

lgm52 said...

This week I am trying to catch up on my magazine reading that has stacked up!

Nancye said...

I'm reading "Where the Truth Lies" by Jessica Warman. So far, it's really good!

nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

Carol M said...

I'm reading Pinch Me by Adena Halpern.

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to comment. I love comments on the blog and do take the time to read them.